President Obama declares disaster in 16 Michigan counties following spring floods

11:48 AM, Jun 19, 2013   |    comments
Flooding in downtown Grand Rapids, April 21, 2013. (Courtesy Dustin Moroski)
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

(WZZM)-- President Obama is declaring a disaster in 16 Michigan counties because of severe spring flooding.

The declaration frees up federal funding for eligible governments and non-profit organizations to repair damages caused by flooding from April 16 to May 14. Allegan County, Ionia County, Kent County, Muskegon County, Newaygo County and Ottawa County are all included in the disaster declaration. The flooding caused more than $3 million in damages to public property in Ottawa County alone.

Last week, the Small Business Administration announced it would offer low interest loans to homeowners, renters, businesses and non-profit organizations dealing affected by storms and flooding from April 7 to April 20. You can find the application by clicking here. Applications for property damage are due August 12, 2013; applications for economic injury are due March 12, 2014.

The Disaster Loan Outreach Center is located at the Kent County Sheriff Department, at 701 Ball Ave. NE in Grand Rapids. The center will be open through June 27, closing only on Sunday, June 23.

Most Viewed Articles

Most Watched Videos